Inviting Collaborators

This option allows you to invite others to contribute to your project in a number of capacities, depending on the type of account you hold.

Inviting other collaborators has several benefits to it. Firstly, the project you’re creating may be a team effort, therefore this feature will provide seamless access to a Survey/ Form/ Quiz for all concerned parties. Secondly, this allows for your project to be proof-read before it’s sent out to respondents.

Inviting Collaborators via Email

  1. Open a Project
  2. Choose ‘Invite Collaborators’ from the sidebar
  3. Click ‘Invite Collaborators’
  4. Enter the email address of the person you wish to collaborate with
  5. Click ‘Add Another’ to create a new space to invite another person (optional)
  6. Edit the permissions for those users (optional)
  7. Click ‘Collaborate’

Note: To delete a collaborator for your list before you invite them, simply click the ‘X’ at the end of the input box.

Permissions for uses

These permissions control the scope to which collaborators can edit or add to your project. There are two options for this:

  • Question Editor: control permissions for collaborators to edit questions and project format
  • Results: control permissions for collaborators to edit and manage results

For both you will be able to set the permissions to:

  • Read
  • Full

‘Read’ will only allow collaborators to view your project, whereas ‘Full’ will give them unrestricted means to edit anything.

How Collaborators Receive Your Invitation

Your chosen collaborators will receive an email notification of your invitation to collaborate. Once they click the provided link, they will be asked to sign into the site.

A message will then be displayed to them, informing them of the details of your invitation. If a collaborator declines the invitation, there will be no way to do this without contacting the user who shared the project with them.

If they choose not to decline your invitation, two acceptance options will be provided. The first will defer the invitation until the next time they sign in (Ask me next time I log in), and the second will accept the invitation (Save my selections).

What if they miss the email?

When collaboration invitation is sent by email, a unique URL link is generated for the recipient of that invitation. This will only be usable by that recipient, and will be available in the invitation sent to them. However, we're aware that sometimes emails are overlooked or go missing. So we've made these URLs available through the collaboration tab, which can be copied and shared with the intended collaborator.

  1. Open a Project
  2. Choose ‘Invite Collaborators’ from the sidebar
  3. Click 'Edit' next to the email address you need a URL for
  • A new pop-up will open indicating the current status of the collaboration invite (Active or Inactive) and the invitation link concerned with that account

   4. Copy the URL provided in the pop up
   5. Share the URL with the intended collaborator

Collaborators' Chat

Once you have invited others to collaborate on your project, you will be able to use our Collaboration Chat feature to discuss your ideas and ongoing progress with them.

You will find this in the bottom right of your screen, and can be used by typing a message into the text field and pressing enter to send. It is also possible to invite further collaborators through the chat box, by clicking ‘Invite’.

Note: This box will not appear if you haven’t invited anyone to collaborate.